Hampton win clash of the titans 

The 2012 Boodles ISFA Cup Final saw two of the tournament's most successful schools clash in a high quality Final, full passing football. In a match refereed by World Cup Final referee Howard Webb, Millfield started the brighter side and nearly took the lead when James Golby broke through only to be thwarted by a fine save from Hampton goalkeeper Will Legg. It was somewhat against the run of play that Hampton took the lead on 25 minutes when Alex Zubaidi's shot was blocked and Charlie Gerson was on hand to knock in the loose ball. The goal lifted Hampton and the game became much more even.

Once again Millfield started the second half brightly and again Legg was forced into action but the Hampton forwards always looked dangerous and they extended the lead 15 minutes into the second half when Dec Ryan's shot flew into the bottom corner with the help of a deflection. Millfield fought their way back into the match when a cross from Dan Williams was deflected into his own net by the unfortunate Joe Williamson and Will Legg was then forced into two more good saves before referee Howard Webb's final whistle brought delight to the Hampton fans.

Millfield had every reason to feel proud of their performance with Alan Robertson outstanding at the back and James Golby working his heart out in midfield but Hampton's greater punch in attack, allied to a strong defence marshalled by Max Roche, meant they were worthy winners of the trophy which was presented by the Chairman of The FA, David Bernstein.

Hampton: W. Legg, M. Roche, J. Williamson, J. Brown (sub: C.Clark), B. Lewis-Clare, D. Ryan, A. Zubaidi (sub: C. Murphy), F. Woodward-Gentle, M. Parsons, J. Dolman, C. Gerson (sub: M. Lane).
Millfield: W. Godmon, L. Downing, J. Robertson, M. Mollloy, D. Webb (sub: M. Berrow), A. Gibbs (sub: A. Stewart), J. Parsons (sub: H.Meneem), J. Golby, J. Radford, D. Williams, W. Oswin.
Scorers: Hampton: Gerson, Ryan.  Millfield: Williamson (og)

Referee: Mr. H. Webb (Yorkshire).
Attendance: 1243.
Chris Saunders Golden Moment: Will Legg (Fine save after 12 minutes)
Guest of Honour: David Bernstein (Chairman of The Football Association)


1st Round
Ackworth 0 Tonbridge 8
ACS Cobham 0 Chigwell 0 after extra-time (Chigwell won 6-5 on penalties)
Alleyn’s 5 Bury GS 3
Birkdale 4 Bolton 0
Bristol GS 0 Charterhouse 6
City of London 2 Ibstock Place 1
Colfe’s 0 Bedales 1
Dulwich 4 Worth 1
Forest 1 Ardingly 2
Frensham Heights 0 Eton 10
Grammar School at Leeds 5 Aldenham 1
Grange 1 Shrewsbury 2
Haileybury 8 Royal Russell 1
Harrodian 0 Repton 4
KES Witley 0 Hampton 8
King’s School, Chester 4 Bradfield 2
Licensed Victuallers 1 Bedford Modern 8
Malvern 1 Cheadle Hulme 2
Norwich 0 Westminster 5
RGS Newcastle 1 Lancing 2
QEGS Blackburn 1 Brentwood 2after extra-time
Queen Ethelburga’s College, York 3 Box Hill 2 after extra-time
St. Bede's College, Manchester 0 Millfield 3
St. Bede's School 8 Highgate 0
Winchester 4 John Lyon 2
Wolverhampton GS 1 Kimbolton 3

2nd Round
Bedales 1 Eton 8
Brentwood 3 St. Columba's College 0
Charterhouse 5 Queen Ethelburga's College, York 0
Cheadle Hulme 1 Grammar School at Leeds 0
Chigwell 0 Westminster 1
City of London 1 Birkdale 4
Haberdashers' Aske's 1 Bedford Modern 0 
after extra-time (Haberdashers' won 4-3 on pens)
Haileybury 1 Millfield 6
Kimbolton 0 Hampton 4
King’s School, Chester 1 Ardingly 0
Lancing 1 Alleyn's 2
Oldham Hulme GS 0 Manchester GS 1
Repton 1 St. Edmund’s, Canterbury 0
St. Bede’s School 9 Dulwich College 2
Tonbridge 5 Latymer Upper 1
Winchester 2 Shrewsbury 1 after extra-time

3rd Round
Alleyn's 3 Birkdale 0
Brentwood 5 Manchester GS 1
Charterhouse 3 Hampton 3 
after extra-time (Hampton won 4-3 on penalties)
Haberdashers' Aske's 1 Eton 5
King's School, Chester 1 Repton 3
Millfield 3 Cheadle Hulme 2
Tonbridge 2 Winchester 1
Westminster 1 St. Bede's School 1 after extra-time (St. Bede's won 5-4 on pens)

4th Round
Alleyn's 3 Eton 0
Brentwood 0 Tonbridge 1
Repton 1 Hampton 2
St. Bede's School 0 Millfield 2

Alleyn's 1 Millfield 2
Hampton 2 Tonbridge 0

Hampton 2 Millfield 1
at Milton Keynes Dons FC


Share this article

Sun 4th March
ISFA U17 v. The Royal Navy
(HMS Temeraire, Portsmouth, 1.00)

Mon 5th Mar
Boodles ISFA Cup Final
(MK Dons FC, 7.00)

Sun 11th March
ISFA U16 v. Millwall FC
(City of London School, 11.00)

Thurs. 15th Mar
Investec ISFA U15 Cup Final
(Burton Albion FC, 6.00)

Friday 30th Mar
ISFA U17 v Lancaster University
(St George’s Park, 1.15)

Friday 30th Mar
ISFA U18 v Lancaster University
(St George’s Park, 11.30)

3rd – 5th April 
ISFA U14/15 Tour 

9th - 13th April
ISFA U16/18 Tour