Ardingly end 17 year wait for second title

The 23rd Boodles ISFA Cup Final between Ardingly College and Hampton School was an exciting end to end game.

Ardingly took a deserved lead when Jonah Adomakoh chased a loose ball, successfully stopping it on the by line before pulling it back across the box for Chris Holmes to strike home sweetly. James Parrott had a great opportunity to draw Hampton level very soon after but his shot flashed agonisingly across the face of goal. Ardingly had their ‘man of the match’ goalkeeper David Bonilla Rasmusson to thank just before the break when he pulled off two great saves in quick succession.

With Hampton continuing to press after the break, Matt Wisdom had a excellent opportunity to draw his team level but could not capitalise. It was Ardingly who doubled their lead 10 minutes into the second half when Oscar Hayes-Brown latched onto a precise through ball, took a touch and lashed his shot home. Goal three for Ardingly was by far the best move of the game. Adomakoh’s decisive run created space for Alex Summerfield to run at the Hampton defence with pace; he then unselfishly passed across goal for the on-running Adomakoh to tap in.

Hampton were back in the mix shortly after when a well stuck corner was converted at the edge of the box by Harry Heywood – Game on! However it was Ardingly who scored the next goal. A brilliantly supported run by Haynes-Brown was clinically dispatched into the top corner by Toby Cassidy to complete the victory and put an end to Ardingly’s 17 year wait to regain the Boodles ISFA Cup.

All photographs of the Final are courtesy of RWT Photography. These and other photographs of the match and the post-match presentations, along with the match DVD, can be ordered from www.rwt-photography.co.uk or by ringing 01733 204445.

Ardingly: D. Bonilla-Rasmussen, G. Southgate, A. Summerfield, M. Penfold, M. Price, J. Adomakoh, C. Holman, O. Haynes-Brown, C. Meegan, T. Webb, F. Wood.  Subs: T. Cassidy, M. Makepeace, O. McConnell, O. Pleasants, D. Adomakoh.
Hampton: G. Roberts, T. Godfray, H. Simmons, C. Selwood, H. Heywood, M. Wisdom, T. Phillipson, O. Brightman, J. Parrott, C. Parmiter, D. Sparks  Subs: C. Mears, C. Seth, L. Smith, O. Mayhew, C. Bloomer.
Scorers: Ardingly: Holman, Haynes-Brown 2, J. Adomakoh.  Hampton: Heywood.
Referee: Mr. H. Webb (Yorkshire).
Attendance: 1,000.
Guest of Honour: Graeme Le Saux (former England World Cup player)

Hurstpierpoint 1 Box Hill 3
Sherborne 2 Lingfield Notre Dame 3
Stockport GS 3 Cheadle Hulme 0

ACS Cobham 1 Haberdashers' Aske's 3
Aldenham 2 Forest 3 Bedales 0 Latymer Upper 12
Birkdale 2 John Lyon 0
Bournemouth Collegiate 1 Bede's 6
Box Hill 2 Colfe's 4
Bradfield 10 Norwich 0
Brentwood 5 Alleyn's 1
Bury GS 0 Harrow 1
Chigwell 1 Trinity 3
City of London 3 Whitgift 3 after extra-time
Dover College 0 Eton 9
Dulwich College 5 Frensham Heights 0
Grammar School at Leeds 3 Ackworth 0
Hampton 11 Oldham Hulme GS 0
Highgate 3 Ibstock Place 2
Hill House 3 Wolverhampton GS 4
KES Witley 1 Lingfield Notre Dame 0
King's School, Chester 5 Canford 0
Lancing 3 The Harrodian 1 after extra-time
LVS Ascot 0 Shrewsbury 6
Malvern 0 St. Bede's College 5
Manchester GS 2 Charterhouse 3
Millfield 2 The Grange 0
Repton 0 Ardingly 1
RGS Newcastle 0 Bolton 1
Royal Russell 0 Haileybury 2
St. Columba's 0 Winchester 1
St. John's School, Leatherhead 8 St. Edmund's, Canterbury 1
Stockport GS 1 Tonbridge 2
University College School 3 Kimbolton 1
Westminster 0 Bedford Modern 2

Ardingly 12 KES Witley 0
Bedford Modern 1 Bradfield 7
Bolton 0 St. Bede's College 1
Brentwood 1 King's School, Chester 0
Charterhouse 2 Winchester 0
Forest 7 Colfe's 1
Grammar School at Leeds 2 Dulwich College 2 after extra-time (Dulwich won 4-3 on penalties)
Haberdashers' Aske's 3 Wolverhampton GS 1
Hampton 2 Millfield 1
Highgate 9 Birkdale 1
Lancing 2 Latymer Upper 4
Shrewsbury 3 Harrow 2
St. John's School, Leatherhead 0 Bede's 5
Tonbridge 6 Haileybury 1
Trinity 4 University College School 2
Whitgift 2 Eton 0

Ardingly  2 Charterhouse 2 after extra-time (Ardingly won 3-1 on penalties)
Bede's  1  Hampton  2
Dulwich College 1  Forest 0
Highgate  4  Shrewsbury  3
Latymer Upper  4  Brentwood  0
Tonbridge  1  St. Bede's College  2
Trinity  3  Haberdashers' Aske's  1
Whitgift  1  Bradfield  3

Bradfield 2  Highgate  0
Hampton  3  Trinity  0
Latymer Upper  1  Ardingly  2
St Bede's College  0  Dulwich College 1

Bradfield 1 Ardingly 3
Dulwich 0 Hampton 6

Ardingly 4  Hampton 1
at MK Dons FC

Share this article

Sun 4th March
ISFA U17 v. The Royal Navy
(HMS Temeraire, Portsmouth, 1.00)

Mon 5th Mar
Boodles ISFA Cup Final
(MK Dons FC, 7.00)

Sun 11th March
ISFA U16 v. Millwall FC
(City of London School, 11.00)

Thurs. 15th Mar
Investec ISFA U15 Cup Final
(Burton Albion FC, 6.00)

Friday 30th Mar
ISFA U17 v Lancaster University
(St George’s Park, 1.15)

Friday 30th Mar
ISFA U18 v Lancaster University
(St George’s Park, 11.30)

3rd – 5th April 
ISFA U14/15 Tour 

9th - 13th April
ISFA U16/18 Tour